Threshold (The Movie)

ThresholdThe Movie

(Written and directed by Darlington Chukwunyere)

THE MAKING
Threshold is a Yoruba movie written in English Language. It was a Darlington Chukwunyere’s ViddawoodStories screenplay, featuring Oluwa George (Rajah) and Femi Ededeji of the Mount Zion Christian movies.

Below is a detailed sumary of  Darlington Chukwunyere’s account of his experience during the making of Threshold.

tresh

“It was my first shot at writing and directing a movie outside the theatre. The producer, Bernard Akinsade equally made his debut in the industry with the Movie Threshold. It was his story idea, though I gave it flesh.

I was still serving, NYSC, batch B, 2014. Akinsade was my colleague. He shared with me his dreams of being a big filmmaker, but then, his fears. It was funny that day. I told him, “You know, I have the skills to make your dream come through” he laughed. He didn’t believe me. I told him I could arrange the production from script to finish. He said, “how?” I asked him to narrate the story idea, he did, I then expanded it into a full length movie story. He was amazed.

Screenshot_20190823-192007

That was how Threshold began. Hmm. Akinsade is a very emotional person. The production, being a first time experience for him got him hooked up in few trying moments. I would encourage him at intervals, but then, at some point, I would scold him to man up and face whatever.

Bottom line, Threshold was a success, eventually adopted by the Ondo State ministry of education, as an academic property. Some time ago in 2016, Bernard hosted a dinner for the success if Threshold. While he gave his vote of thanks, I just stared at his face. I could remember his frustrating moments, all the times he contemplated quitting.

Screenshot_20190823-191643

Two lesson I learnt from Threshold the Movie, “never give up!” We both never gave up, no matter how tough the journey became. Secondly, sharing is caring. If he didn’t share his dreams, challenges, fears with me, I won’t have offered to help. Often times the solution to our problems might just be close, even under our noses. The only way we can find out is by opening up. Most times dying in silence doesn’t pay”.

PLOT
Bayo as an unserious secondary school student has this habit of throwing away books, and in fact, anything on paper. He believes books do not determine his future. While he got a second chance at retracing his tracks, he shreds and throws away a letter, which unknown to him was an employment letter. Again, he receives an uncommon gift, a bible, from an old contact. This bible contained a check of five million Naira. Hmm. Find out what Bayo did with it this time.

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑